Breast Cancer Trials 40th Annual Scientific Meeting

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Breast Cancer Trials (formerly the Australia and New Zealand Breast Cancer Trials Group) celebrated its 40th Anniversary at the 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) in July.

Breast Cancer Trials (BCT) is the oldest and largest oncology clinical trials research group in Australia and New Zealand. The BCT research program brings together almost 800 researchers in 101 institutions and more than 15,000 women have participated in BCT clinical trials.

The ASM was held at The Westin Sydney and involved two days of Scientific Sessions, covering timely reviews of breast cancer clinical trials, discussion of new protocols, future clinical trials research and other research developments. Topics discussed during the conference included: Neoadjuvant – How it impacts on loco regional therapy, Logo Regional, Applied Science and Translational Research, Quality of Life, Clinical Trial Results, and Metastatic Disease.

International guest speakers were Associate Professor Peter Dubsky from Switzerland, Professor Timothy Whelan from Canada, Professor Carlos Arteaga from the United States and Professor Hope S Rugo from the United States.

As part of the conference each year, a number of BCT awards are presented and recipients receive travel grants to attend the ASM. The 2018 recipients were as follows:

  • Professor Fran Boyle AM received The Alan Coates Award for Excellence in Clinical Trials Research, which recognises a member of BCT who has made an outstanding contribution to the BCT’s clinical trials research program;
  • Professor Carlos Arteaga received The Robert Sutherland Award for Excellence in Translational Research, which recognises Translational Researchers and their achievements and contributions to improved patient outcomes;
  • Dr Synn Lynn Chin received The John Collins Medal, which was established to encourage potential academic Breast Cancer Surgeons and Registrars to become involved in clinical trials research;
  • Ms Victoria Sproule received The Study Coordinator Prize, which acknowledges outstanding commitment to the BCT research program by a Study Coordinator.

To celebrate BCT’s 40th Anniversary, a public Q&A event was held on the eve of the ASM to discuss the Past, Present and Future of Breast Cancer Research. Held at The Art Gallery of NSW, the event was moderated by Journalist and Channel 10 presenter Sandra Sully and panelists were: Professor Alan Coates AM, Associate Professor Prue Francis, Professor Cristin Print, Associate Professor Nicholas Wilcken, Ms Leslie Gilham and Professor Fran Boyle AM. The event was broadcast live on BCT’s Facebook page and the full video of the Q&A is available there to watch. A summary video of the evening is available on the BCT YouTube page.

BCT’s 2019 Annual Scientific Meeting will be held in Adelaide from 25-27 July.


About Author

ONA Editor

The ONA Editor curates oncology news, views and reviews from Australia and around the world for our readers. In aggregated content, original sources will be acknowledged in the article footer.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.