ASM Report from the ANZBCTG

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

conference_oncology news australia2016 Joint COSA/ANZBCTG Annual Scientific Meeting

The Australia and New Zealand Breast Cancer Trials Group (ANZBCTG) recently held a joint Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) with the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (COSA) from 15-17 November 2016.

This year’s ASM was located at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre in Queensland and attracted leading breast cancer researchers and speakers from around Australia, New Zealand and internationally. The theme of the conference was Partners in Progress in Breast Cancer Research and Care, with approximately 1,000 delegates in attendance over three days.

During the ASM, a number of ANZBCTG Awards were presented which recognise members and researchers, and their contributions to the ANZBCTG’s research program:

  • The ANZBCTG Gold Medal: Adjunct Professor Linda Reaby AM was presented with the ANZBCTG Gold Medal, which recognises the contribution and achievements of a member of the ANZBCTG and their significant role in the development and conduct of breast cancer clinical trials in this region. This was the first time that a consumer was presented with the Gold Medal. For more than 20 years, Linda has been a tireless advocate in raising awareness of the importance of breast cancer research particularly clinical trials and for consumers to be involved in the scientific decision making process. Linda was the inaugural Chair of the ANZBCTG’s Consumer Advisory Panel.
  • The Alan Coates Award for Excellence in Clinical Trials Research: Professor John Simes was presented with The Alan Coates Award in recognition of a research career spanning nearly four decades. He has been a tireless advocate of the value of clinical trials and was an early advocate for making trials research part of routine clinical practice. John is the Director and one of the founders of the NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre in Sydney and was an ANZBCTG Board Director for approximately 13 years.
  • The Robert Sutherland Award for Excellence in Translational Research: The 2016 recipient of this award was Professor Sunil Lakhani, who is the Head of Discipline of Molecular and Cellular Pathology at the University of Queensland’s School of Medicine. He has made an outstanding contribution to all aspects of clinical academic work and a major international contribution to translational research. Sunil has made a significant contribution in the area of triple negative/basal like breast cancers and has received pilot funding from the ANZBCTG to develop a theranostic approach to the management of brain metastases.
  • The John Collins Fellow Medal and Travel Grant: The 2016 recipient of the John Collins Fellow Medal was Dr Melissa Edwards, a trainee registrar in general surgery from New Zealand, who is mid-way through the first year of a PhD on the effects of comorbidity on breast cancer care and outcomes in New Zealand. This award was established to encourage potential academic breast cancer surgeons and registrars to become involved in the ANZBCTG’s research program.
  • The ANZBCTG Study Coordinator Prize: This award acknowledges the significant contribution to breast cancer clinical trials research achieved by a Study Coordinator at one of our participating institutions. The 2016 recipient was Ms Amy Tang from Box Hill Hospital who has worked closely with our research department for a number of years across numerous trials such as SOFT and TEXT.
  • Avon Travel Grants: These grants, which are generously supported by Avon, provide support for Study Coordinators to attend the ANZBCTG’s ASM. The 2016 recipients were: Mrs Diane Canning, Ms Alison Coote, Ms Louise Francisco, Mrs Jenny Gilchrist, Mrs Lauren Keller and Mrs Mona Martyn-Smith.

The ANZBCTG’s 2017 ASM will be held in Melbourne from 25-28 July 2017 at The Langham Hotel. Visit the ANZBCTG website.


About Author

ONA Editor

The ONA Editor curates oncology news, views and reviews from Australia and around the world for our readers. In aggregated content, original sources will be acknowledged in the article footer.

Comments are closed.